87 – Ode To My Wife

Poem number 87
.
Ode To My Wife
.
I’d slaughter every badger in this green and pleasant land
For an hour in a meadow. You and me, holding hands.
I’d murder every field mouse, kill off every baby fox
Just to see you in a meadow in your flowery summer frock.
I’d massacre the pigeons and the squirrels and the deer
Just to picnic in a meadow, and to simply have you near.
Because nature is a wonder and a beauty, yes it’s true
But nature’s simply nothing next to meadows full of you.

Leave a Reply

