102 – Take A Hike, Bozos

Poem number 102
.
Take A Hike, Bozos
.
They went and took my legs away,
They said I had no right
To walk through England’s countryside
To sample the delight
Of the dappled autumn woodland
Of the frosty winter morn
Of the daffodils in springtime
Of the fields of summer corn,
Then they said I’d get my legs back
When they’d got their fifty grand –
But in truth I wasn’t bothered
For I had some spares to hand
So I simply strapped on new ones
Made of metal. Sturdy, strong
And I went right back to hiking
Through the meadows, all year long.

Leave a Reply

