148 – A Man Must Have Neat Trousers

Poem number 148
.
A Man Must Have Neat Trousers
.
A man must have neat trousers
Whether linen, twill or tweed
A man without neat trousers
Is a sorry man indeed.
.
A man without neat trousers
If you chance to chance him by
Must cast his glance e’er downwards
And not meet you eye to eye.
.
A man without neat trousers
Cannot carry self respect
Must count ambition thwarted
And all chance of progress wrecked.
.
A man MUST have neat trousers
But alas, all mine are torn
I am ruined and forsaken
Quite the lowest man e’er born.
.
Please buy me some neat trousers
I implore you, please be kind
I am thirty-two of leg and waist
With pert and firm behind.
.
A man must have neat trousers
You could set me on my way
All I ask’s a pair of trousers
Neat and tidy, charcoal grey.

Leave a Reply

