161 – Prayer For The Day

Poem number 161
.
Prayer For The Day
.
Dear Lord of all the little things
Thank you for the rain,
Thank you for the extra sleep –
I missed the bus again.
Thank you for the walk to work
That soaking, fun-filled trek,
The slightly clammy trousers
And the water down my neck.
Thank you for the flooded path
I jumped from rock to rock,
Thank you for the leaking shoe
The soaking, squelchy sock.
Thank you Lord for all these things
You’ve made my Monday ace
Stay away on Tuesday
Or I’ll punch you in the face.

Leave a Reply

