218 – Deaf As Half A Post

Poem number 218
.
Deaf As Half A Post
.
I can only hear from one ear today
The right one is loaded with wax
The rest of my hygiene is tickety boo
But my ear-cleaning’s always been lax
So now half the world has gone silent
And half of the world is too loud
It’s quite disconcerting
To find your ear hurting
And feel like you’re stuck in a shroud
To top it all off now this evening
There’s ringing and sounds of the sea
I’ve tinnitus too
So no need to ask who
Are the bells for, they’re tolling for me!

Leave a Reply

