238 – The Spot On My Brother’s Nose

Poem number 238
.
The Spot On My Brother’s Nose
.
My brother is an Adonis
A gym-built body that the ladies die for. A six pack gut.
Hair the colour of a Saxon hayfield, and beneath the straw
Bluebell eyes that could hypnotise Bambi. Perfect clothes
Over skin as brown as a walnut,
An Adonis.
But he has a spot on his nose.
.
I am fat, and gone to seed.
Ladies run from my arms like water from a sieve
And leave me empty. My hair drips grease
Onto my collar, and dandruff lines my clothes
As rats crowd a sinking ship, desperate to leave
Quasimodo.
But there is no spot on my nose.
.
I am not a vindictive man.
I am placid, and forgiving, and I love my brother deeply.
But he has a spot on his nose
And I smile every time I see it
Because I have no spot on my nose. I laugh cheaply
When he isn’t looking. Because my nose is clear as unspoilt glass,
Pristine in its smoothness
And lovely in its lack of pimples. Chic.
But he has a spot on his nose.
A big, red inflamed spot which is full of pus
That could erupt, at any moment this week
And coat some unfortunate goddess in slime.
I have no goddess. I am fat, he is thin
And toned. This time next month he will be perfect again
But for now, he has a spot on his nose. I don’t.
And, just this once,
I win.

Leave a Reply

