309 – Barbed Wire

Poem number 309
.
Barbed Wire
.
I wandered lonely as a clown
Through fields of cow-poo muddy brown
While all at once I caused to frown
When barbed-wire blocked my way.
.
Atop a fence of splintered oak
I thought at first it was a joke
But no, a faded sign it spoke
That trespassers would pay.
.
Inflamed, my hiker’s heart with ire
I took my clippers, snipped the wire
I heard a nearby rifle fire
I dived into the hay
.
I lay in fear of violent doom
The rifle loosed a second boom
The dust beside my groin did plume
My old chap blown away
.
I crawled back then to whence I’d been
And since that date I’m not so keen
To wander through sweet England green
On sunny days in May
.
Instead I sit at home and weep
Insidious, the nightmares creep
Of those who held my manhood cheap
When barbed-wire blocked my way.

Leave a Reply

