410 – Nothing Rhymes With Banana

Poem number 410

.

Nothing Rhymes With Banana

.

Nothing rhymes with ‘banana’.

Except ‘manana’, and that’s just a cheat.

This task I’ve been set

(A hundred pound bet)

Is just hopeless. I’m facing defeat.

.

Nothing rhymes with ‘banana’.

Except ‘manana’, and that can’t be used.

It’s Spanish, you see

And the feeling would be

That’s not cricket. I’m getting confused.

.

Nothing rhymes with ‘banana’.

Except ‘manana’, and that makes no sense –

It just means ‘tomorrow’

And so, to my sorrow

It’s useless. I’m feeling intense.

.

Nothing rhymes with ‘banana’.

Except ‘manana’, so I’ll just give in:

Banana manana

Manana banana

Banana manana, I win!

Leave a Reply

