432 – I Might Kill You Tonight

Poem number 432

.

I Might Kill You Tonight

.

I might kill you tonight

But then again I might not.

You sleep, so trusting, beside me with no ounce of fright

But who am I?

The gentle, smiling husband, all sweetness and light

Or the murderous stranger?

.

I might kill you tonight

As I have killed others, perhaps

My murderous urges have been hidden from sight

By decorum and patience

But perhaps, underneath, your wrong is my right

And I will snap.

But then again, I might not.

We’ll have to wait and see.

Leave a Reply

